This Dutch colonial house with stucco exterior and slate roof was built in 1905 from plans by W. Marbury Sommervell. The house has a fireplace in every bedroom, a gymnasium on the third floor, a huge library, a tile floored conservatory, and a large sunroom. The beautiful grounds originally included Parsons Memorial Garden on the west and a rose garden on the east side. The house was designated a Seattle landmark in 1979. …Continue reading “Reginald Parsons House – 618 W Highland Dr”
George Kinnear (Jan. 30, 1836 – July 21, 1912) was a Civil War veteran and Woodford County clerk in Illinois when he heard about the Pacific Northwest.
Enticed by firsthand and written accounts, he followed the siren’s call to travel to the Northwest in 1874 and chose Seattle as his new home. He bought a tract of land now known as the “G. Kinnear Addition,” on the southwest side of Queen Anne Hill. …Continue reading “Kinnear Park – 899 W Olympic Pl”
George Kinnear (January 30, 1836 – July 21, 1912), Seattle pioneer, real estate developer, and community benefactor, was a leader in the development of Queen Anne Hill and a prominent figure in early Seattle history. His stately mansion, completed in 1888 on two and a half acres at the foot of Queen Anne Hill, was a choice example of the Queen Anne architectural style so fashionable in his day. Although the mansion and its surrounding structures were demolished to make way for the construction of Bayview Manor, many of its valuable and unique components were salvaged and incorporated into other structures that still stand today.